SmarterU LMS: Discussion Forums

SmarterU LMS: Discussion Forums


Welcome to this SmarterU feature video
on our discussion forums capability. We’re going to be looking at our
Fina Shoes demo account which is a fictional company. First let’s take a look at discussion forums that I’ve already
enabled on one of our sample accounts. This is a sample demo course with
discussions enabled and you can see that a few different posts have already been
made. So I as a learner would see all of the discussion that’s happening for any
of the courses that I currently have access to. I have a choice to be able to
subscribe or unsubscribe from a particular discussion forum, and for the
ones that I’ve subscribed to, I can click over to the message center, and on the
message center I can see all of the discussions that I’ve subscribed to,
which at this point are locked to particular courses. In the future, we’ll
be providing you the ability to spin up ad hoc discussion forums, perhaps for
different groups, or teams, or users that you’ll be able to use in different ways.
So this discussion within the message center is the same as the discussion
that would be happening from the point of view of looking at a particular
course—same discussion just shows up at the bottom of a course or shows up
within the message center. I can edit a previous comment that I’ve already
posted, but I can’t edit a post that somebody else made; even an Administrator is
locked to only deleting other posts, not being able to edit them. So let me
add a new comment. So this comment ends up on the bottom of the thread. All the new comments always end up at the bottom, which works similar to common blog and
other commenting systems. If I want to I can delete this comment now. At the top is a message indicator, right
now it’s indicating that there haven’t been any new posts. But if I were to go
in as another user and make a post, and refresh my page, then you’ll see that
change. Let me show you that now. I’ll open up another browser window in as a
different user. So I’m in as Robin right now. I’ve added a post as Robin. Now let’s
go back to my sample user. And I can either refresh the page or just hop to a
different page—in this case I’ll just go over to the message center. So now you
can see that I have one new post, and if I were to click on this, then it’s going
to bring me directly to the message center, and bring me to the bottom of the
list of the discussion so I’ll be able to see the new posts that have been made.
At any point I could choose to unsubscribe from a discussion. That will
remove it from my message center listing here, and will also no longer send me
notifications. But, if I continue to have access to the course, I can always
navigate over to the course itself and participate with the discussion here, or
choose to unsubscribe. We encourage you to try it out to see what
you think. Send us your feedback as we have much more coming; thank you.

Danny Hutson

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *